Oklahoma Car Insurance Requirements
If you want to register and drive a vehicle in Oklahoma you must prove to the state, and have the ability to, make good on your obligations should you be unfortunate enough to have an accident. Most people will do this by simply purchasing a car insurance policy from a company licensed to sell insurance in Oklahoma.
If you’re not amenable to car insurance you do have several other options:
- leave a $75,000 cash deposit with the state’s Department of Public Safety
- post a bond with a state licensed bonding company
- self-insure if you have at least 25 vehicles registered in the same name
High risk drivers unable to exercise any of these options are eligible to participate in Oklahoma’s Assigned Risk Auto Plan. This plan is a state-sponsored program designed to provide car insurance for drivers who cannot get it any other way. It’s not cheap car insurance, by any means, but for some drivers it’s the only option.
Oklahoma Liability Policy
In Oklahoma the minimum amount of car insurance you can purchase is known as 25/50/25. That first number represents $25,000 for a single victim you may injure or kill. The second number represents $50,000 in coverage for multiple people you may injure or kill. Finally, the last number represents $25,000 payable to anyone whose property you’ve damaged.
Oklahoma does not require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist, personal injury protection, or other coverages. You may add them as you see fit. However, keep in mind your bank will probably require collision and comprehensive insurance in order to protect their investment in your vehicle.
Violating Oklahoma Insurance Law
Cheap car insurance is readily available in Oklahoma so there’s no good reason not to have it. If you do violate the law the penalties will vary depending on your circumstances. For example, being caught driving without insurance could result in a $250 fine, a jail sentence of up to 30 days, and the suspension of your license and registration.
Carry Documents in Your Car
Regardless of the financial responsibility option you choose it’s vital that you carry the proper documents in your car. A police officer will ask to see your documents after an accident or during a traffic stop. If you can’t produce them you will probably be given a ticket and face a modest fine.
Acceptable documentation includes:
- an insurance ID card provided by your carrier
- a self insurance certificate from the state of Oklahoma
- a deposit receipt from the Department of Public Safety
- a bond certificate from your bonding company
- a certificate from the Oklahoma Assigned Risk Auto Plan