North Dakota Car Insurance Requirements
If you’re seriously injured in a car crash, your right to file a personal injury claim against another driver is governed by whether your state operates under a no-fault or a fault-based system. North Carolina’s system is regulated under no-fault laws. Under the state’s no-fault statute you cannot sue for personal injury unless those injuries exceed a certain financial threshold.
What’s Required of Drivers
In North Dakota every driver must purchase a car insurance policy in order to legally drive a vehicle on public highways. North Dakota’s statute requires a policy to include liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. The minimum amounts of each are:
- bodily injury/death – $25,000 per accident for one person; $50,000 total for two or more people
- property damage – $25,000 per accident
- personal injury protection (PIP) – $30,000 per person, per accident
- uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) – $25,000 per person, per accident; $50,000 total per accident
Personal injury protection is known in some places as “basic no-fault” or “med-pay”. It’s designed to help pay your medical bills in the event of a car accident you have caused. Usually it only kicks in after your regular health insurance has been exhausted.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance
Driving without liability insurance in North Dakota is classified as a class B misdemeanor. At the very least you’ll be facing a $150 fine and a possible suspension of your registration.
If you’re involved in accident without insurance in force, you’ll be subjected to an additional penalty of 14 points added to your driver’s license. Those extra points will take you over the allowable limit and will result in a temporary suspension of your driver’s license. You’ll also pay increased insurance rates as a high-risk driver when your license is reinstated.
Maintaining Proof of Insurance
Whether you have a cheap car insurance policy with liability only or the most comprehensive policy on the market, you’re required by law to carry proof of your insurance in your car. That proof could be an insurance ID card provided by your carrier, a certificate from the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan (for people who don’t qualify for standard insurance), or a self-insurance certificate if you meet the requirements for that option.
During a traffic stop or accident investigation you are required to present your proof of insurance to the attending police officer. Failure to do so will result in a ticket at the very least. But then you also have to prove to the court you actually do have insurance in force in order to avoid stiffer fines and penalties.