Nebraska Car Insurance Requirements
Being able to cover financial losses after a car accident is part of being a vehicle owner and driver. Every state, including Nebraska, requires drivers to demonstrate they have the means to cover those financial losses. This is known as proving financial responsibility. Some states only offer one or two options for accomplishing this; Nebraska offers five:
- purchasing a standard car insurance policy (most common option)
- posting a surety bond with a Nebraska-approved bonding company
- posting a real estate bond from at least two bondholders with real estate in Nebraska
- depositing $75,000 in cash with the state treasurer
- self insuring (if you have at least 26 vehicles registered in the same name)
Since most Nebraska drivers are going to choose the car insurance option, we’ll deal with that in more detail. Whether you purchase cheap car insurance or a more expensive policy, every policy sold in Nebraska must be provided by a state licensed company. Furthermore, it must provide at least the following minimum coverages:
- bodily injury/death protection – $25,000 per accident for a single victim; $50,000 per accident for multiple victims
- property damage protection – $25,000 per accident
Keep in mind that Nebraska law exempts both dealer vehicles and cars with temporary 30-day plates. The compulsory insurance law also doesn’t apply to things like boats, snowmobiles, campers, and trailers.
Carrying Insurance Documents Is Mandatory
Nebraska requires its drivers to carry some sort of insurance document in their vehicles at all times. Drivers have several different options including an insurance ID card, and insurance binder or declarations page, a deposit certificate, a bond certificate, or a certificate of self insurance.
Regardless of the option you choose, make sure you get the documentation you need. Otherwise you could be ticketed if a police officer asks you for proof and you’re unable to show him.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance
You don’t want to be caught in Nebraska without some sort of financial responsibility, so purchase a cheap car insurance policy if you can’t afford one of the other options. The first time you’re caught you’ll be faced with a fine that could be as high as $500. Fines go up accordingly for subsequent offenses.
Furthermore, a court could decide to suspend your license and/or registration for an insurance violation. If that happens, you’ll need to file an SR-22 certificate, in addition to paying reinstatement fees, in order to get them back. How long you’ll have to maintain the SR-22 will depend on the court’s decision.