Maine Car Insurance Requirements
In the state of Maine the compulsory car insurance law is a bit different than it is in most other places. First of all, the law requires not only vehicle owners to carry liability insurance; it also requires individual operators of vehicles to have their own insurance if they’re driving someone else’s car.
Secondly, the Pine Tree State requires three types of insurance:
- Liability – This insurance pays for property damage you cause as well as injuries you inflict on other people. Maine is unusually high in their liability requirement at $50,000 per accident for a single victim and $100,000 per accident for multiple victims. The state requires $25,000 per accident for property damage. You can elect to purchase a single limit (combined) policy with a minimum value of $125,000.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist – Also known as “UM”, this type of insurance pays your medical bills and property damage expenses if you are the victim of a hit and run, another driver who is at fault but has no liability insurance of his own, or that same driver who has insurance but not enough to cover your expenses. UM coverage must be provided at $50,000/$100,000 per accident.
- Medical Payments – This insurance coverage is frequently known simply as “med-pay.” It helps to defray the cost of your own medical bills even if you are at fault in an accident. Maine drivers must have a minimum of $2,000 in med-pay coverage included in their car insurance.
Carrying Proof of Insurance with You
Whenever you get behind the wheel in Maine you must carry with you adequate proof of insurance coverage. The state offers a number of options including an insurance ID card, summary document, binder, declarations page, or letter from your insurance company on official letterhead. Whatever form you choose must include your name, the make and model of your car, your policy number, the amounts of liability insurance you carry, and the expiration date.
You can be found guilty of an insurance violation either by being caught driving without insurance or allowing your policy to lapse while your registration is still active. In either case you will be fined, charged with uninsured operation of a motor vehicle, and be subject to license and registration suspension.
You’ll also be required to file an SR-22 instrument demonstrating you have sufficient liability insurance heading into the future. How long you’ll have to maintain the SR-22 will depend on your circumstances. If you fail to comply, the state may further suspend your license and vehicle registration indefinitely.