Kansas Car Insurance Requirements
Kansas is among 12 U.S. states whose auto insurance is based on a no-fault model. Under this model, injuries sustained in an automobile accident are handled by each driver’s insurance policy regardless of who caused the accident. Personal injury lawsuits against other drivers are only allowed if injuries reach a certain threshold.
Unlike other no-fault states, Kansas leaves nothing to chance. They require every driver to obtain three types of insurance in order to register and drive a vehicle:
#1 – Liability Insurance
When it comes to cheap car insurance most of us are familiar with liability coverage. By definition, liability insurance pays to cover the injuries of drivers who were hurt by your negligence behind the wheel. State law requires Kansas car insurance policies to provide the following amounts of liability coverage:
- $25,000 per accident for a single victim
- $50,000 per accident for multiple victims
- $10,000 per accident for property damage
#2 – Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection is additional coverage that pays medical and funeral expenses above and beyond liability and UM (see below) insurance. All Kansas car insurance policies must provide specific amounts to pay for medical expenses, in-home care, rehabilitation, disability and/or lost income, and funeral expenses.
#3 – Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM) Coverage
If you were involved in an accident in which the other driver was at fault, you might be able to sue him and his insurance company if your injuries meet certain requirements. If he has no insurance your UM coverage would pay the bill. Kansas law requires uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to be, at minimum, $25,000 per person with a $50,000 per accident cap.
Fines and Other Penalties
Kansas doesn’t take insurance violations lightly. For starters, failing to maintain insurance or driving without it is automatically a class B misdemeanor. A first offense garners a $1,000 fine. Drivers who fail to pay that fine are subject to six months in jail and the designation as high risk drivers.
Repeat offenses within a three-year period come with a $2,500 fine. You’ll also most likely have your registration revoked and your driver’s license suspended. Both can only be reinstated after you prove you’ve purchase insurance and paid the appropriate reinstatement fees.
Keep in mind that Kansas law requires you to provide proof of a car insurance policy whenever a police officer requests it. Your car insurance carrier should send you an insurance ID card or a declaration page; both are considered acceptable proof. Also keep in mind that insurance companies are required to inform the state upon the lapse or cancellation of any car insurance policy.