Hawaii Car Insurance Requirements
The Aloha State has compulsory car insurance laws that apply to every vehicle owner who wishes to drive a car on public highways. Because Hawaii is considered a no-fault state, car insurance policies must include property damage liability, bodily injury and death liability, and personal injury protection (PIP).
As explained by the Hawaii Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs, the state’s no-fault law applies only to personal injuries. Under the law each driver in an accident is covered by his own insurance company unless his injuries reach certain quantitative threshold. That’s what PIP insurance is for. The minimum amount of PIP insurance drivers must carry is $10,000.
The bodily injury liability pays for those injuries that reach the quantitative threshold. In such a case the injured driver would have the right to file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver who is at fault. The at-fault driver’s insurance would make payment according to the court’s decision. Bodily injury and death liability must be provided in the amount of $20,000 per person with a $40,000 per accident limit.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) insurance is not required in Hawaii. However, insurance companies are required to provide information about it and give you the option to include it on your policy. If you don’t want UM coverage you can opt out by signing a waiver.
Insurance Required with Registration
Any car registered in the state must be covered by a car insurance policy. Furthermore, state law mandates drivers carry a provider-issued insurance ID card in their vehicles at all times. If you’re pulled over by a police officer and cannot produce an ID card you will most likely be given a ticket.
If you’re caught driving in Hawaii without a valid insurance policy your registration certificate and license plates will be seized. You won’t be able to get them back until you pay the associated fines and reinstatement fees. In some cases a police officer may have your vehicle impounded at the same time.
Canceling Car Insurance in Hawaii
If you plan to cancel a car insurance policy for any reason, you have only two options available:
- surrender your plates and vehicle registration to your county prior to the cancellation date
- purchase a new car insurance policy and provide proof to the state prior to cancellation of your old policy
If you allow your insurance to lapse or be canceled without meeting one of the two above options you will be violating state compulsory insurance law. You may have your registration and license suspended until such time as you provide adequate proof of insurance.