Georgia Car Insurance Requirements
Registering and driving a vehicle in the Peach State is pretty similar to other states. Georgia law requires car owners to verify they can meet their financial applications in the event of a crash, giving them two options to do so.
The first, and most common, option is to purchase a car insurance policy that provides minimum liability coverage. The second option is to self insure by demonstrating to the state you have the financial resources to do so. More often than not the self insurance option is not chosen by individuals; it is usually the domain of car dealers.
If you’re planning to purchase a cheap car insurance policy to meet George’s minimum requirements, it must include at least the following:
- property damage liability – $25,000 per accident
- bodily injury/death liability – $25,000 per accident (single victim)
- bodily injury/death liability – $50,000 per accident (multiple victims)
Georgia does not require drivers to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. But they are options along with comprehensive, collision, and more.
Proof of Insurance and Electronic Reporting
The law in Georgia requires car insurance companies to issue ID cards to their customers as part of meeting the obligation of proving insurance coverage. The insurance card, by itself, is not adequate proof of insurance under state law. Nonetheless, drivers are required to carry the ID in their vehicles and produce it at the request of a police officer.
To meet the legal statute for proof of insurance, carriers selling policies in the state must also participate in George’s electronic reporting system. The system utilizes a computer database which insurance companies must keep up-to-date regarding policies that are canceled or allowed to lapse.
In cases where the electronic reporting database lags behind, a copy of your insurance declaration pages accompanied with a bill of sale showing you as the legal owner the vehicle will meet the proof of insurance requirements.
Penalties for Violating the Law
Drivers who violate car insurance law in Georgia are subject to a variety of penalties. If you have an accident or are caught driving without insurance, you’ll face fines and misdemeanor charges. You could also face misdemeanor charges if you’re caught driving after your license or registration has been suspended for an insurance violation.
If you allow your insurance to lapse, yet you’re not caught driving without insurance, you’ll be fined at the very least. The state may also choose to suspend your registration for up to six months and impose reinstatement fees in order to get your registration back.