Connecticut Car Insurance Requirements
As a New England state, Connecticut is very similar to New York, Massachusetts, Vermont, and New Hampshire in terms of compulsory auto insurance laws. They do require their state’s drivers to purchase a car insurance policy and maintain it for as long as they intend to drive. Unlike some other states, Connecticut doesn’t offer any other options.
A reading of the Connecticut statute shows that it’s worded slightly different when compared to other states. For example, the bodily injury portion in most state statutes talks about two dollar amounts: one for a single victim and another for multiple victims. In Connecticut, the wording states one amount ($20,000) to be paid on a per-person basis, and a second amount ($40,000) as a per-accident maximum.
In addition, a minimum liability policy in Connecticut must also include $10,000 coverage to pay for property damage you might cause. A cheap car insurance policy in the Constitution State would include not much more than these minimums. Drivers who elect to carry collision and comprehensive insurance will pay more.
Dropping Insurance in Connecticut
Drivers who intend to drop their liability insurance must turn in their plates and insurance to a local DMV office and obtain a cancellation certificate from their insurance companies. Drivers may not allow insurance to lapse or be canceled while continuing to hold onto plates and registration.
One exception to this law applies to seasonal vehicles. If you have a motorcycle you take off the road for the winter, for example, you may turn in your plates and request the DMV put a seasonal hold on them. Once that’s done, you can drop your insurance coverage for the winter. In the spring, all you need do is reinstate your insurance in order to retrieve your license plates. The same rule applies to cars that are taken off the road for repair or storage purposes.
Connecticut is among a large number of states now utilizing electronic reporting. The state requires insurance companies to inform them, via an electronic database, whenever a car insurance policy is canceled or allowed to lapse. The state routinely monitors the database, so they will know very quickly if you don’t have insurance.
If you’re convicted of violating Connecticut’s car insurance law you will face fines and penalties appropriate to your circumstances. For example, if you allow your insurance to lapse but you were not caught driving your car, you’ll be subject to a small fine of $200. If you’re caught driving or involved the accident, that fine goes up accordingly and you could be subject to a suspension of your registration and license.